100 cards for less than $10

One of my favourite batches of 10.

On a recent visit to Spotlight I was super excited to find a pad of 100 sheets of 12″x12″ scrapbooking papers by Grace Taylor.  Usually when I look at those paper pads I only like half the papers, but this one … I could see a use for every single design!  Then up popped a challenge from Mums Who Make … what can you make for $10?  I realised that I could make 100 cards for that!  I did buy in bulk and dug into my stash of rubber stamps & inks, but using my One Sheet Wonder template I can make 10 cards using 1 sheet of 12″x12″ pattern paper and 5 & 1/2 sheets of A4 cardstock.  I paid $10 for 100 pattern paper, so that’s 10c each.  I paid $13 for a pack of 200 A4 cardstock, that’s 13c each.  That’s 94c for 10 cards!  Technically I could use the entire paper pad and make 1,000 cards … dare I take on such a challenge? LOL

In the photo above you can see my ‘ingredients’ on the left, and the finished cards on the right.  The beauty of the templates is that you can make lots of cards quickly.  If you are a person who likes to send handmade cards, this might be what you’re looking for!  Personally I like to bundle together 10 handmade cards with 10 envelopes and a book of 10 stamps and give them as a gift.  I’m starting to think about Christmas and some upcoming birthdays, and these 100 cards will make 10 wonderful gifts for less than $10.  Great for teachers, babysitters, lovely neighbours, dog walkers, Guide leaders … and no last minute Christmas shopping!  I’ll be sharing a lot more details as this project progresses.  For these cards the music stamp is Grace Taylor, the bird & crown stamps are 7 Gypsies and the greeting stamps are Darkroom Door (also an acrylic block).  The ink pad is Stampin’ Up ‘Chocolate Chip’  There is one sheet of Grace Taylor pattern paper, 5 sheets of white A4 card, 1 sheet of black A4 card and 1/2 sheet of cream A4 card.  I used a trimmer to cut the white A4 card in half for the card bases, and the bone folder to get a crisp fold on them.  I also used the trimmer to cut the pattern paper and black card following the templates. Last, but not least, I used a small pair of scissors (Martha Stewart) to cut out my stamped images and double sided tape to stick everything down.  I will be releasing these templates soon!

2 thoughts on “100 cards for less than $10

Leave a Reply

