Foodie Friday – Chocolate Brownies

I don’t know about you, but for me Fathers Day has always involved chocolate in some way, shape or form!  My Dad loved a nice chocolate cake (my Nana makes the BEST chocolate cake!!!), but hubby loves some chocolate brownies.  I’m pretty sure I got this recipe from a Family Circle slice cookbook that I bought myself in my mid 20’s.  It is an absolute winner every time, and now the torch has been passed with Miss K making it for daddy on the weekend.

Warning … these brownies are super moist and very more-ish!  Do you have a traditional Fathers Day dish?  Do you have a special occasion where you make a family favourite?  Do you have an awesome brownie recipe that you want to share?  Feel free to comment below or over at the Cake & Enemy Facebook page … I’d love to hear about your chocolatey traditions 😀

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday – Chocolate Brownies

  1. I’ll have to give your brownie recipe a try. I’ve never had success with brownies until this past Christmas when I resorted to using a bulk packet mix I bought at Costco. Although I prefer not to use packet mixes if I can, usually. I’m assuming that’s a 20cm square tin in your recipe?

    Mine is not a traditional Father’s Day dish, but a chocolate cake that my son requests for his birthday every year. It is dairy free and egg free, not because he is allergic to any of those things or because he’s a vegan but simply because the recipe just doesn’t happen to have those things in it. The icing recipe does have butter in it but that is easily substituted for dairy free margarine if you can’t have dairy and I find it easier to use margarine for icing making anyway.
    It’s from a Family Circle Kid’s Cookbook that my mother gave me in the first year of my marriage because I really didn’t know how to cook. Just for reference, it’s a one hat dish ie among the simplest to be found in the book.

    Fudge Cake

    1 1/2 cups self-raising flour
    3 tablespoons cocoa
    1 cup caster sugar
    1 cup water
    1 teaspoon imitation vanilla essence
    1 tablespoon white vinegar
    1/2 cup vegetable oil

    Preheat oven to 180 degrees C (350 degrees F). Grease and flour a 20cm fluted ring tin (or a plain ring tin if, like me, you don’t own a fluted one). Put all ingredients into a bowl. Mix with a spoon to roughly combine then whisk until smooth. Pour into tin. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Cool in tin for 10 minutes then turn out onto wire rack.
    When completely cool, ice with chocolate icing if wished.

    Icing

    1 cup icing sugar
    1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa
    1 tablespoon butter (or margarine)
    A little hot water

    Mix first three ingredients together in a bowl. Add 1 tablespoon hot water and begin to stir. Add more hot water in small increments (ie by the teaspoon) until icing is at the desired consistency. Continue to stir until smooth. This cake looks equally nice when done with a thicker icing that sets firmly or with a runny icing that gets drizzled artistically (or haphazardly!) over the cake where it dribbles down the sides.

    If you want a lower fat version of the cake, you can substitute apple sauce (needs to be fairly runny) for some or all of the oil in this recipe. The cake tastes less fudgy and won’t keep as long but it still tastes pretty darn good.

    I’ve been making this cake for years now and have done it as cupcakes and also in a round tin to turn into a teddy bear face for my daughter’s birthday. It seems to behave well pretty much whatever you do with it.

Leave a Reply

