Show & Tell – KISS

Small drawer labelsWhen you have been doing any kind of hobby for any decent length of time, you will have accumulated “stuff”.  It’s inevitable.  As you may have noticed by now, I love to organise my stuff, and it’s a constant work in progress.  For example … yesterday I took advantage of the 40 degree heat (that’s celcius people!), and spent time on the computer making labels in Photoshop.  Why?  Because I like to be able to find things as quickly as possible when I’m crafting, because less search time = more creation time.  I have the weirdest way of getting any task done … I start with the most incredibly complicated way possible, then pare it back to something simpler.  Hence today’s blog post title ‘KISS’ … I constantly have to remind myself to ‘Keep It Simple Sweetie’!

Christmas DecorationsLet’s take the Christmas decoration boxes as a prime example.  When hubby brought all the boxes down from the loft in November I realised that after 17 years, something had to change.  I came up with many a complicated idea, how I’d use shoe boxes, colour coded inside the cardboard boxes … and then I realised … KISS.  SO … the first step was to recognise where the old boxes were letting me down.  The tape was so old that they often fell apart and we had re-taped them several times.  The writing on the boxes had been changed so many times that we brought down all sorts of things that had nothing to do with Christmas, and left others in storage.  What a waste of time!  Then it occurred to me that I had been tripping over these 2 tubs for several weeks (I am a slow learner!), and suddenly it all fell into place.  I needed to get rid of the old boxes.  They were not serving their purpose as sturdy storage boxes, my kitty had been eating the tape & nibbling on box corners (messy in several ways!), and I was tired of maintaining them (and tired of tripping over empty crates).  So I made some labels (which look weird because I photoshopped these ones onto the crates while I wait for a suitable day to go & print them).  These crates will not be nibbled on, they will not get squished, and they will be lightning fast to locate next Christmas.  I was also able to cull 2 huge boxes of decorations to go to the op shop AND threw 2 boxes of broken and old horrible stuff into the bin.

Now I’ve had this little win in keeping things simple, I’m kind of addicted to it.  I’m looking at everything and wondering how I can pare it down and make things easier to find.  Sometimes you need to think outside the tattered old cardboard box!

Leave a Reply

