Show & Tell – Quilting

922928_10151540209556668_1214419223_nIt’s official … I have been bitten by the quilting bug.  This was my first attempt at a quilt top.  I set aside the whole weekend to make it, but was finished before lunch on Saturday.  What was a girl to do but go shopping for more fabric to make another one?

484562_10151541745721668_1202523071_nAnd so I made another quilt top.  There were a few lessons to be learned.  Do not plot out and do the math for a quilt right before bed.  You will do nothing but toss & turn all night dreaming about fabric combos, inch to cm conversions and trims.  Also, to make the job easier, it is essential to have the right tools.  I started the first quilt without my 1/4″ foot (on loan to a friend), and I had a devil of a time matching it up.  For the second quilt I used the right foot, and it matched up brilliantly.

Now that I’m done with this design, I have already drafted out my next quilt, and I am on top of Christmas gifts for my nieces & nephews already.  Sure, it’s not the cheapest hobby I’ve ever tried, but it’s not the most expensive either.  If you’re considering quilting, but you’re not sure if you’ll enjoy it, try a small project first.  I started with a cathedral window cushion cover.

920484_10151692716515802_519080174_oWith thanks to my lovely friend Sharon for the photo … I made this cute little mug rug for her birthday.  Just scraps, a little lace, some applique … really, really quick to make, and just a little addictive.  I think I’ve made 6 so far LOL.

So … how did I go from dressmaker to dollmaker to quilter?  On one hand it was and easy progression.  On the other hand I hang out with a quilter … in a quilting shop … it was bound to happen! LOL  If you are on the NSW Central Coast and you think you might like to give quilting a go, or even just have a one-on-one lesson on how to use your sewing machine, then I highly recommend Frankensteins Fabrics.  Easy parking, beautiful fabrics, big tables and Marni is an excellent teacher with incredible patience!  You might even find me lurking about behind the fabric bolts LOL

 

Leave a Reply

