Show & Tell + Get Your Craft On – Quilt

Quilt complete ceThere have been plenty of sneak peeks, but after yesterday’s free-form quilting session I was keen to finish this piece.  The wadding was particularly thick, so it’s quite a puffy quilt.  Last night I finished off all the threads & started the binding.  This morning I finished the binding, and I’m particularly happy with it!

I really don’t want to think about the cost of quilting, because for me it’s about aquiring new skills.  However, I have to admit that shopping the clearance tables is really rewarding.  The 6 different prints in this sock monkey range were nabbed for $6pm (instead of the original $16.99), and the rest was filled in with homespun at $6.95pm.  I was going to have a plain border & binding, until I realised that it would be cheaper to use the print!  I didn’t use a pattern.  I saw a strip, square, rectangle repeat on a baby quilt on Pinterest and figured out the math to make a full size single bed quilt all on my own.  I will probably keep this one … it’s the first quilt I have made, it has a few errors, and let’s face it … it’s red and has sock monkeys on it.  What’s not to love!!!???

Leave a Reply

