My oldest friend

Dawn & Jacquie 2009

This is my (left) and my oldest friend in the world (right), Jacquie.  I have known her longer than any of my peers, even my own sister.  Lordy but this girl is tough, with a sharp wit and wicked sense of humour, sassy, talented, kind and giving.  She has endured more ill health, surgeries, treatments and tests than anyone I know.  Yet she smiles and doesn’t let you be all sad and mournful.

It came as a huge shock to hear that her body had taken her as far as it could, and I felt helpless living on the other side of the country.  I cashed in my flybuys points and went to see her 2 months ago.  We chatted and laughed, drank tea and even were busted napping together (just like old times!).  Her family hosted me, ferried me around and we just enjoyed talking about our girls, and catching up.  As I flew out on the red eye from Perth I knew it was the last time I would see her.  Last night the news arrived … she has gone.  My heart breaks for her beautiful girls, her loving husband and devoted parents & siblings.  Again I feel helpless sitting here on the other side of the country, wishing there was something practical I could do to make them feel better.  With all my heart I believe that she is in a better place, with an unscarred body that will no longer fail her beautiful spirit.  RIP my oldest friend.

2 thoughts on “My oldest friend

Leave a Reply

