You Can Quote Me – Oz

Youve always had the power my dear you just had to learn it for yourself reduced

 

When I was in year 2, the whole infants school was herded into the school hall to watch The Wizard of Oz.  I had to be taken outside part way through because I was terrified of the Wicked With of the West.  It wasn’t until many years later that I saw the entire movie, and she wasn’t so scary anymore.  In fact … it is one of my favourite movies of all times.  I even sang the role of Dorothy when I was in year 5 in a pretty woeful school production.

A couple of years ago hubby gave me tickets to Wicked.  I was lucky enough to see Jemma Rix in the role of Elphaba, and it was dizzying!  I have seen a LOT of stage musicals, but Wicked is by far my favourite, and Elphaba my favourite character of all time.  To top it off, it is the first time I’ve ever seen a mezzo soprano sharing a lead role in a musical.  Usually it’s soprano only, and I’d given up ever being in a musical because I’m not a soprano … but to see a lead role in my vocal range … it changed a lot of things for me.

So, this quote from The Wizard of Oz really jumped out at me today.  Today has been a particularly difficult day.  I’m still recovering from surgery, and Miss E is having a really tough time adjusting to life as a high school student.  This morning she took out her frustrations on me … it was hard.  That made this quote all the more poignant.  I can deal with this … I just have to find the power within.  How many times do we think we can’t manage, but really … we can.  It might be hard, it might be unpleasant, but all of us are stronger, wiser and more resourceful than we know.

One thought on “You Can Quote Me – Oz

Leave a Reply

